An independent, coeducational PK-Grade 12 private school located in historic Fredericksburg, Virginia

2017-2018 School Calendar

Please click here for a one-page, print-friendly version!

Monday, August 21 LS/MS Division Orientations
Wednesday, August 23 First Day of School

Monday, September 4 Labor Day - No Classes

Friday, October 6 LS/MS Conferences; US Teacher Work Day - No Classes
Monday, October 9 Fall Break - No Classes

Wednesday, November 1 Teacher Work Day
Friday, November 10 No School for LS
Wednesday, November 22 Early Dismissal for Thanksgiving Break - 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, Nov. 23 - Monday, Nov. 27 Thanksgiving Break - No Classes
Tuesday, November 28 School Resumes

Wednesday, December 20 Early Dismissal for Holiday Break - 11:45 a.m.
Thursday, Dec. 21 - Tuesday, Jan. 2 Holiday Break - No Classes

Wednesday, January 3 School Resumes
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No Classes

Friday, February 16 MS Conferences; LS/US Teacher Work Day - No Classes
Monday, Feb. 19 - Friday, Feb. 23 Winter Break - No Classes
Monday, February 26 School Resumes

Friday, March 16 LS Conferences - No Classes (*MS/US in session)
Friday, March 30 Early Dismissal for Spring Break - 11:45 a.m.

Monday, April 2 - Friday, April 6 Spring Break - No Classes
Monday, April 9 School Resumes

Thursday, May 24 US Convocation
Friday, May 25 Early Dismissal - 11:45 a.m.
Friday, May 25 Commencement
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day - No Classes
Tuesday, May 29 - Thursday, May 31 MS/US Exams
Thursday, May 31 MS Convocation

Friday, June 1 LS Closing Program/Last Day of School

Please note: All dates are subject to change. The updated school calendar can be accessed on the
Veracross parent portal.

LS = Lower School (PK – Grade 5)
MS = Middle School (Grades 6 – 8)
US = Upper School (Grades 9 – 12)